A dynamic technical program charged with the latest developments in Electrokinetics, Electrophoresis, Dielectrophoresis, Separations and Microfluidics
  • Outstanding economic value for attendees
  • Transdisciplinary interaction with SciX associated societies
  • All AES awards presented in one venue
  • Following AES tradition, student poster session presented
  • AES “Blue Fingers” Student Award
Quick Links
Poster Session at SciX featuring two $400 Student Poster Awards
Details can be found here.
Special proceedings issue with ELECTROPHORESIS

AES is pleased to team again with the journal ELECTROPHORESIS to publish a special proceedings issue featuring of the work presented at the AES Annual Meeting. Please click here for further details.

Workshop: Electrokinetic Microfluidics: Theory and Hands-on Simulations

This 3-hour workshop focused on applying electrokinetic theory to relevant subjects on a number of microfluidic platforms including capillaries and microchips.
Lecturer: Prof. Corneilius (Neil) Ivory, Washington State University
Cost: $25 for students, $225 for conferee and $325 for non-conferee.

Lunch with leaders

Monday, October 14th, 12 Noon, Santa Rosa Room, Palm Springs Convention Center.

AES “Blue Fingers” Student Award

The AES Student Award recognizes the most outstanding student paper submitted for the AES Annual Conference by a graduate student. The award recipient received a complimentary conference registration and financial support to attend the AES Annual Conference. Details can be found here. Deadline was May 17, 2019.

Meet our organizers!
Adam T. Woolley

Adam T. Woolley is currently University Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Brigham Young University (BYU). He graduated summa cum laude with a B.S. in Chemistry from BYU and received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of California–Berkeley under the direction of Professor Richard Mathies. His doctoral research involved the development of micromachined electrophoretic systems for rapid DNA analysis, and his work was recognized with the Fannie and John Hertz Foundation Thesis Prize. Woolley was a Cancer Research Fund Runyon-Winchell Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow in the group of Professor Charles Lieber at Harvard University. His postdoctoral work focused on implementing carbon nanotube probes for high-resolution biological scanning probe microscopy. Woolley is the recipient of several recognitions, including a 2007 PECASE award from NIH, and the 2015 AES mid-career award. Additionally, he has served as Chair Editor for Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry since 2017. Woolley’s current research entails: combining affinity purification and solid-phase enrichment with electrophoretic separation in 3D printed microfluidic devices to enable biomarker quantitation; developing nucleic acid diagnostic systems for determining antibiotic resistance profiles in sepsis; and devising ways to fold DNA into controlled nanoscale designs that result in functional electronic nanomaterials through selective metallization.

Sagnik Basuray

Sagnik Basuray is currently an Assistant Professor in Chemical and Materials Engineering at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT). He did his bachelor’s from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Bombay, India and his doctoral work from the University of Notre Dame, Indiana under the guidance of Dr. Hsueh-Chia Chang. Sagnik was instrumental in developing the first theory for Dielectrophoresis for small particles and explaining the anomalous behavior in the cross-over frequency for small particles. He designed robust, cost-effective Point-of-Care (POC) devices with electrochemical sensors as an alternative to real-time PCR and DNA sensing. The sensor work has been licensed and developed by F Cubed LLC. His research was highlighted during the 2010 Michigan-Notre Dame football game at halftime as an ad to showcase the research activities at the University of Notre Dame, and he received the 2011 Eli J. and Helen Shaheen Graduate School Award for the best engineering thesis. After a brief stint at 454, A Roche Company where he developed the 4th and the 5th generation of sequencing machines, Sagnik did his postdoctoral under Shubhra Gangopadhyay (currently NSF director) at the University of Missouri, Columbia. During his postdoctoral stint, he has developed top-down fabrication protocols (soft lithography) to fabricate hierarchical nano-ordered plasmonic/photonic structures which show extra-ordinary electro-magnetic field enhancement. These were used to investigate single biological molecules like DNA, RNA, FRET pairs and to develop multi spatial/temporal techniques (Raman, Fluorescence) from a single platform. Sagnik’s present work in Biosensors is geared towards meeting the “ASSURED” criteria for POC devices for which he received the 2018 NSF career award in Nanobiosensing. Sagnik’s other research thrusts include chemical sensors for detection of PFAS, combining shear forces, nanostructures and membranes for antibody purification, electrocatalysts. Recently Sagnik’s many patents and commercialization success resulted in him being inducted as a senior member in the National Academy of Inventors.